iPad unboxing: First Look

April 4, 2010 at 10:48 7 comments

Apple.com at Launch Day (Apr 03, 2010)

Apple.com at Launch Day (Apr 03, 2010)

Well, the day has finally arrived for the much anticipated launch day for the iPad. Launch day for the iPad is obviously a huge thing for Apple as there are plenty of hype built up surrounding the product, with customers lining up, eager to get their hands on one. Even the Apple main page, the declaration “iPad is here” shows no lack of anticipation on Apple’s side. As reported by AppleInsider, Apple retail store employees were already starting to prepare for a mad day at 1am in the morning and reportedly begun unboxing iPads for display at 3am.

Insisting to fulfill a promise of shipping tens of thousands of iPads today (Saturday, April 03, 2010) to eagerly awaiting customer (I’m one of them =D ), they have employed UPS instead of FedEx (Apple usually ships with FedEx) to deliver them. It seems that it is an enormous task for even UPS to fulfill such a request as when the UPS delivery man handed me my shipment, he lets of a really big sigh of relief, saying “Oh thank god you’re here. It’ll be really messy if you didn’t open the door!”, and rushed off most probably to deliver another machine to someone else. I don’t really have much of an idea why he would say that but I am so glad that I’ve gotten mine without having to queue up for hours and some store with the probability that it might sell out before I could even get close. Besides, there isn’t an Apple store where I am nor a partnering retail outlet here that’s carrying it. Thanks UPS guy (although I don’t know your name)!

Okay, enough with the miscellaneous details! Here’s the main “dish” of this post: iPad Unboxing!

The original iPad Box before unboxing

The original iPad Box before unboxing

iPad box opened

Upon opening, the iPad takes center attention! Seems like Kyouka wants a piece of it too!

Like all classic Apple packaging, the iPad sits right in the middle of the box with no distraction from the piece. It’s a simple yet elegant and classy presentation, which is what Apple’s packaging is widely known for. Dig deeper and you’ll find the quick intro booklet along with the usual apple logo sticker. After that you’ll get to the power adapter and the USB to Apple dock connector.

iPad - iPod comparison

The size difference of the iPad and the iPod. At first look it really looks like an iPod with a 9.7" display...

Everything in the box

What comes inside the iPad box: the iPad itself, a quick start manual + apple logo stickers, USB power adapter, and the USB to iPad dock connector.

Thickness comparison between iPad, iPhone, and iPod Touch

Thickness comparison between iPad (center), iPhone 3G(S) (right), and 2nd Generation iPod Touch (left).

Minimalist buttons

Minimal buttons: Other than the home screen button right at the bottom center, you get the rotation lock, volume, and power controls.

With such minimalist design, the iPad is fairly simple to understand. The rotation lock is a much welcomed feature that I was hoping that they include in the next iPhone/iPod touch refresh. I do read stuff laying down on my side and it is really annoying having the screen change orientation all the time. First launch of the iPad was pretty straight forward, just push and hold the power button on top until the screen lights up.

First power-up

The first thing you'd see when you first power-up the iPad out of the box

Connect to iTunes

... and after that it screams: "Connect me to iTunes!" Albeit it's graphically represented

It’s required to connect to iTunes for initialization and registration before you could use the thing. It’s a little annoying but it’s just a 2 minute “next next next” work.

Before iTunes starts

iPad waits as iTunes took its own sweet time to launch.

Initialization and Registration

After you've let iTunes initialize, you can skip registration, but it never hurts to register the device.

iPad End User License Agreement

The gazillion page License agreement that we rarely actually read.

Connect to iTunes

Provide your iTunes account information here to have it synced to iPad.

After that iTunes gives you the option to create or use your existing Mobile Me account to sync all your devices together. Since I don’t have Mobile Me, I’ve just chose to skip this part. After that you’d have to give a name to the iPad and choose to use a previous setting from another device. It could use settings from both the iPhone and the iPod touch if you have them. It took me hours to decide on a name and ended up with Azunyan (From K-ON!). Well you can change the name anytime from iTunes but heh~ I just like to name my stuff. Now I’ve added another daughter to the family! Welcome Azunyan!

Well although you could choose to import settings from the iPod/iPhone, I chose to customize the settings as I have special uses for it. Each of my device has a role so their settings are all different. Most of the considerations are based on space and functionality and what I’d want to do with them. My iPod gets to sync all the media but limited in apps. iPhone gets my whole calendar, contacts and the entire app library but is limited on media. iPad… well I’m planning to have it used as my laptop replacement so it’s nature is very experimental right now.

You want Mobile Me?

You want Mobile Me?

Name it and import settings

Took me hours to decide on her name. Finally she's called Azynyan (from K-ON)

Last step: sync-ing content

Sync your stuff from iTunes and you're good to go!

Well unboxing and taking pictures took some time, and I had really spent time thinking about what name I shall give to her (yes all my devices are females, and I call them daughters!) but overall it took no more that 5 minutes to get through the setup.

Well this is the end of the first look at the device. Tune in for more as I get acquainted with my newly adopted daughter and find out what she can do (or the “creative” things I’ll do to her)!

Entry filed under: Apple, iPad. Tags: , .

I’ll be back…!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. XD  |  April 4, 2010 at 11:25

    never had you posted things up so fast.. ><

    let's see how long you will keep this blog alive for.. XD

    Reply
    • 2. Kazuki  |  April 4, 2010 at 11:41

      I’m not expecting much either lol!

      Reply
  • 3. 蠅軍曹  |  April 4, 2010 at 14:35

    Man, can’t believe that you really go and buy this bloated iPod Touch

    Reply
    • 4. Kazuki  |  April 4, 2010 at 15:10

      It might look like a bigger iPod touch but don’t write it off as “bloated” when all you’ve been reading are cynical reviews. I do believe the difference in form factor do indeed provide enough changes that the iPad is worth it’s class. It’s a platform with it’s own potential. I’m exploring the possibilities. It’s more than meets the eye in usability and functionality.

      Reply
    • 5. rob v  |  May 14, 2010 at 07:35

      and a Boeing 747 is a bloated Cessna?

      Reply
  • 6. Harsh agrawal  |  April 4, 2010 at 21:15

    Wow iPad is fascinating me with it’s design and as it is I’m a big fan of Apple products… Will get this one As soon as it will be available in my country

    Reply
  • 7. Kent  |  April 4, 2010 at 22:01

    Yea!! With a bigger screen, it give a much more opportunities to do what Iphone and Touchie couldn’t do it~ So, keep away your stereotype when you’re enjoying this new device!! 🙂 I want to get one><"

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives